Archives of Nethys

Pathfinder RPG (1st Edition) Starfinder RPG Pathfinder RPG (2nd Edition)

All Rules | Downtime Rules

Chapter 4: Classes / Archetypes

Alternate Class Features

Source Starfinder Core Rulebook pg. 126
An archetype grants alternate class features that replace or alter class features normally granted by your class at one or more levels. The possible levels at which an archetype might grant an alternate class feature are 2nd, 4th, 6th, 9th, 12th, and 18th. An archetype might grant alternate class features at a few of these levels or at all of them.

Each class has a specific list of the class features that are altered or replaced, as defined in each class’s replaced class features entry. For example, an envoy who selects the Starfinder forerunner at 2nd level gains the trained for trouble class feature granted by the Starfinder forerunner instead of the envoy improvisation normally gained at 2nd level.

In some cases, a character gains a class feature at a later level than she would normally, rather than not gain it all. In these cases, a different class feature is generally replaced at the level the delayed class feature is now acquired. For example, a mechanic who has an archetype with a 9th-level alternate class feature does not gain the override class feature until 10th level. When this character’s mechanic class level reaches 10th, she gains the override class feature, but she doesn’t gain the mechanic trick normally gained at that level.